The memory of a kindly word …

A dear friend sent this poem to me a while back.  I found it to be a good reminder for myself. Little displays of thoughtfulness can make a world of difference for someone. Let’s not get so wrapped up in ourselves that we can’t be thoughtful or kind to someone else.

The memory of a kindly word far long gone by,

The fragrance of a fading flower sent lovingly,

The gleaming of a sudden smile or sudden tear,

The warmer pressure of the hand, the tone of cheer,

The hush that means I can not speak but I have heard!

The note that bears a verse from God’s own word –

Such things we hardly count as ministry

The givers deeming they have shown scant sympathy;

But when the heart is overwrought, Oh who can tell

The power of such tiny things to make it well!

– F.R. Havergal

Leave a comment