I Am Glad to Be a Mother

This is a random poem I found someplace. I mean to post it on my Face Book page every Mother’s Day but it never works out.  It touches a special spot in my heart. I have had multiple miscarriages and am SO incredibly thankful for my son.  I hope you enjoy it too. Please let me know if you do.

I Am Glad to Be a Mother

Lord, I am satisfied tonight to be a mother, in a world gone mad with hate;

Here in this hour of earth’s agony, I do not ask that I might do some great

Magnificent achievement, bringing fame; I do not covet larger fields to roam;

I only want to keep alight the flame Of God’s love, shining from a Christian home.

I thank Thee for the children; if the way should lead to heartbreak, grant me the courage, Lord;

I will remember that there was a day thy mother’s heart we pierced, too, by the sword;

Thy grace will be sufficient now – as then; I am glad to be a mother, Lord – Amen.

– Author Unknown

Leave a comment